Grand Theft Scooter: Raratonga Edition

The day before we left wonderful Raratonga, I decided I wanted to hitchhike to the other side of the island to see about getting some pearls drilled. Hitchhiking in Raratonga was extremely easy – the people there are quintessential friendly Polynesians and the island is super small so it didn’t take long to get around anyways. A friendly Kiwi man gave me a ride from the harbor to Tokelau Jim’s.

When I was done I crossed the street, stuck my thumb out and no sooner than 4 seconds did a guy on a scooter pick me up. I climbed on and he took off – flying down the winding road. He wasn’t going all the way to Avatiu harbor so he took me to where he worked and told me to wait – that he would get his friend to give me a ride the rest of the way. I went into the adjacent store to grab some fresh eggs and when I came out I stood by some parked scooters to wait for his friend. A big Polynesian kid about 20 years old came out and introduced himself. We hopped on another scooter and rode towards the harbor while talking about travel, island life and other things.
We pulled into the harbor and he stopped the scooter and turned around.
“So is this your scooter?” he asked.
Huh?
“Um, no. It’s not yours?”
“Nope.” He paused. “Hmm…must belong to someone at the store. Well it was nice to meet you!”
Off he went, my partner in crime. Together we heisted some stranger’s scooter. Oops. But as I found in island life, people are laid-back and friendly and I bet everything worked out just fine.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Grand Theft Scooter: Raratonga Edition

  1. Yeah right – stealer, stealer! Can’t believe it’s been a year – congratulations, what an anniversary! M

  2. Federico Prado

    Very funny! I am sure it all worked out. Hope you’re having a relaxing time in Tonga.

  3. Roger Cisl

    Great story….

    Ahhh, Tonga, we chartered there in 1986 out of Vavau. What an idyllic island group. I remember there is a cave you must go to. You can only get in by diving about 5 ft down and thru a tunnel for about 10 ft. Then you come up into a grotto. The cave steamed up every time a swell came in. Who said I am loosing my mind… I can remember it just like it was yesterday. I also remember, it took me at least 10 minutes and a lot of persuasion from my friends, before I gathered enough courage to dive in.
    Tonga is one of my most favorite places I have ever been to.

    Enjoy

    Roger

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

